Financial Monitoring service

at the ministry of

Finance and economy of Turkmenistan

header background image

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006)

The Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) (hereafter “the Committee”) oversees the sanctions measures imposed by the Security Council.

Work and mandate of the Committee

The Committee comprises all 15 members of the Security Council and makes its decisions by consensus. The current Chair of the Committee, for the period ending 31 December 2023, is Her Excellency Mrs. Pascale Christine Baeriswyl (Switzerland). The Vice-Chairs for 2023 are Albania and Japan. The Committee prepares annual reports of its activities. The Committee has Guidelines for the conduct of its work. Formal and informal meetings of the Committee are announced in the Journal of the United Nations . The work of the Committee is supported by the Panel of Experts established pursuant to resolution 1874 (2009) .

The Committee is mandated to:

  • take appropriate action on information regarding alleged violations of sanctions measures

  • seek from all States information regarding the actions taken by them to implement effectively the sanctions measures and whatever further information it may consider useful

  • consider and decide upon notifications and requests for exemptions from the sanctions measures

  • designate individuals and entities who meet the listing criteria as contained in the relevant resolutions

  • examine the Member States’ reports submitted pursuant to relevant resolutions

  • examine the reports presented by the Panel of Experts

  • report every 90 days to the Security Council

  • conduct outreach activities

Background information

The Committee was established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) on 14 October 2006 to oversee the relevant sanctions measures relating to the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK). Additional functions were entrusted to the Committee in resolutions 1874 (2009), 2087 (2013), 2094 (2013), 2270 (2016), 2321 (2016), 2371 (2017), 2375 (2017) and 2397 (2017).

Further information on measures

Targeted Sanctions

Under resolution 1718 (2006) , persons or entities engaging in or providing support for the DPRK’s prohibited programmes or by persons or entities acting on their behalf or at their direction could be designated, including their family members of such persons, for the travel ban. This was expanded under resolution 2087 (2013) including the criteria of individuals and entities which have assisted the evasion of sanctions or in violating the provisions of resolutions 1718 and 1874.

In 2009 and 2012, the Committee designated a total of 5 individuals and 11 entities (S/2009/222, S/2009/364 and S/2012/287). Under resolution 2087 (2013), an additional 4 individuals and 6 entities were designated and again, under resolution 2094 (2013), 3 new individuals and 2 new entities were added. On 28 July 2014, the Committee designated an additional entity. Under resolution 2270 (2016), 16 new individuals and 12 entities were designated, and with resolution 2321 (2016), 10 new individuals and 11 entities were further designated. Under resolution 2356 (2017), an additional 14 individuals and 4 entities were designated, followed by 9 individuals and 4 entities under 2371 (2017) and one individual and three entities under resolution 2375 (2017). Most recently, on 30 March 2018, an additional 1 individual and 21 entities were designated under resolution 2397 (2017). Currently, there are a total of 80 individuals and 75 entities on the 1718 Sanctions List.

Source: https://www.un.org